skip to Main Content

Upcoming Sermons

Videos of past sermons are available HERE

Sunday, September 22, 2019 – “Redemption Redefined and Redefied”

Please join us in an exploration of the concept of redemption and how Unitarian Universalist values and core theology relate; how we may redefine it so we can live into our religious heritage of defying the status quo. Led by Rev. Rodney Lemery.

Sunday, September 29, 2019 – “Ready, Set, Nope”

Maybe failure is not only an option but an obligation. What do you do when everything you planned for goes wrong?” Led by Intern Minister Miranda Lennox.

Past Sermons

Sunday, September 15, 2019 – “Fishing for Serenity”

Please join Rev. Leslie Takahashi as she wrestles to land the 2018 Bid For Love…

read more

Sunday, September 8, 2019 – “AND So It Goes…”

When times are hard it is too easy just to try to escape or avoid,…

read more

Sunday, September 1, 2019 – “The Ocean Refuses No River”

Annual Water Ceremony Service” Join us for the annual gathering of community and waters. At…

read more

Sunday, August 25, 2019 – Unboxing

An enthusiastic spirit of curiosity can lead us toward passionate action. What impact does our…

read more

Sunday, August 18, 2019 – Play, Pray, Relate, Create

Join Rev. Leslie Takahashi as she examines what these four activities have in common and…

read more

Sunday, August 11, 2019 – I Am NOT Just One Box

When we look around the church, how do we think of the people sitting there…

read more

Sunday, August 4, 2019 – The Eye of the Storm

In an emergency, people tell you to remain calm. That’s easier said than done. In…

read more

Sunday, July 28, 2019 – A Healing Journey

Join Worship Associate Bill Yarborough to explore the different facets of healing from repressed, traumatic…

read more

Sunday, July 21, 2019 – Befriending Uncertainty

Physician and author Rachel Naomi Remen has said, “The wish to control floats like a…

read more

Sunday, July 14, 2019 -UU and Japan’s Religious Traditions

How might Unitarian-Universalists learn from and find value in Japan’s religious traditions - Shintoism, Buddhism,…

read more

Sunday, July 7, 2019 – Resilience

When the unexpected happens, do we shatter, or rebound, recover, and readjust? What makes us…

read more

Sunday, June 30, 2019 – The Power of We

Remembering the UUA General Assembly of Congregations 2019. MDUUC’s delegation will reflect on the highlights…

read more

Sunday, June 23, 2019 – Wholly Well

There are so many things which are difficult to accept about living in flawed, vulnerable…

read more

Sunday, June 16, 2019 – You Raise Me Up

Today we celebrate the parent that resides within us all as we remember how we…

read more

Sunday, June 9, 2019 – What Can I Learn From This?

Mistakes and missteps are a part of human endeavor of all types. Join the MDUUC…

read more

Sunday, June 2, 2019 – Flowering and Flourishing

Join us for our annual flower communion as we celebrate our annual flower communion ritual,…

read more

Sunday, May 26, 2019 – Lest We Forget – ONE SERVICE 10:15 a.m.

PLEASE NOTE:  ON MAY 26, WE BEGIN OUR SUMMER SUNDAY SERVICE SCHEDULE WITH ONE SERVICE…

read more

Sunday, May 19 – 9:15 To What Is Your Heart Called – 11:15 Trust

9:15 To What Is Your Heart Called - Join us for this all ages worship…

read more

Sunday, May 12, 2019 – Bread and Roses

As we imagine a world rooted in love, let us remember the seeds that have…

read more

Sunday, May 5, 2019 – The Truth, The Whole Truth and Nothing But The Truth

How do we hold onto life-sustaining truths in a world of false news, spin and…

read more

Sunday, April 28, 2019 – A Community of Love

Commitment and community are often lauded in joyful and easy phrases and yet the day-to-day…

read more

Sunday, April 21, 2019 – Lo, The Earth Awakes Anew

Join us for our Easter Sunday services. Music, joy and the wearing of Easter bonnets…

read more

Sunday, April 14, 2019 – Death, Taxes and Spiritual Practice 

Benjamin Franklin is credited with once saying that the only things that are certain are…

read more

Sunday, April 7, 2019 – Loving Beyond Belief

Loving Beyond Belief - I had a poster in my classroom for some years that…

read more

Why Hate Is Not The Answer and Ignorance Not the Antidote

This morning we awoke to unspeakable news from Christchurch New Zealand where 49 people are…

read more

A Treasure Hunt for Journeys All Around Us

Try perceiving your well-known world in new ways. Take our monthly treasure hunt list with…

read more

Sunday, March 31 – The Fountain of Age

Rev. Dave Sammons will explore the adventure of getting older, both as a minister now…

read more

Sunday, March 24 – ONE SERVICE 11:15 a.m. – A Legacy of Love: A Service of Commitment.

Join us for a single service at 11:15 a.m. which will be proceeded by our…

read more

Sunday, March 17 – Hearing One Another Into Truth

We are living at the speed of sound, buried beneath a weight of information, besieged…

read more

Sunday, March 10, 2019 – A Desert Story

A very long time ago, a young Jewish man fled to the desert for 40…

read more
Back To Top