skip to Main Content

Upcoming Sermons

Videos of past sermons are available HERE

Sunday, January 19, 2020 – Foot Soldiers: A Celebration of Martin Luther King, Jr.

On this weekend when we celebrate an internationally known leader, it should be so knowing that he was part of a mass movement which depended on the rank and file—the “foot soldiers” as they were known to the civil rights leaders. They did not ask to have the answers—only asked how they could lend their part. In our time, we ask that question as we observe Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.’s birthday in this dawning new decade. (Please note: After the second service, Rev. Leslie will share her experience in Alabama with Contra Costa clergy and other religious leaders.)

Sunday, January 26, 2020 – The Religion of Tomorrow, Today: Service of the Living Tradition.

ONE SERVICE at 10:15. CONGREGATIONAL MEETING AT 12 noon. Join Rev. Leslie Takahashi and your Board of Trustees as we conduct this service which recognizes births, deaths and new members among us as well as reflects upon our ever-evolving Living Tradition. This is a chance to talk about how our traditions are meeting the new challenges of our age.

Past Sermons

Sunday, January 12, 2020 – To Whom DO We Belong?

In every age, we are asked to determine to whom or to what we are…

read more

Sunday, January 5, 2020 – Ritual, Restoration, and Renewal

ONE SERVICE 10:15 a.m. A Service for the New Year. Join Rev. Leslie Takahashi and…

read more

Sunday, December 29, 2019 – The Lights We Carry Forward

Join Intern Minister Miranda Lennox for this service which marks the continuation of this sacred…

read more

Sunday, December 22, 2019 – The Light of Faith

Often in life, miracles (both large and small) happen. Our Jewish and Christian roots have…

read more

Sunday, December 15, 2019 – Children and Youth Holiday Pageant

Join us for our version of Charles Dickens’ Christmas Carol in this special and seasonal…

read more

Sunday, December 8, 2019 – The Liberation of Empathy

Contemporary neuroscience knows a lot about empathy, what it is and how it helps us.…

read more

Sunday, December 1, 2019 – Breaking Bread, Keeping Faith

How do traditions and customs ground and keep us even in times of immense change.…

read more

Sunday, November 24, 2019 – Thanksgiving and Gratitude – with Rev. David Sammons

The great myth of the American Thanksgiving is that it celebrates the thankful Pilgrims inviting…

read more

Sunday, November 17, 2019 – Refueling

Refueling: What can we give to one another? The news, the holidays, and even daily…

read more

Sunday, November 10, 2019 – Sacrifice

In progressive circles we do not look so much at sacrifice and yet it is…

read more

Sunday, November 3, 2019 – That Which Has Been Your Delight

FALL BACK - Turn your clocks back one hour at 2:00 a.m.! This Sunday at…

read more

Sunday, October 27, 2019 – The Masks We Wear

Join us for a service in which we talk about the things we know about…

read more

Sunday, October 20, 2019 – The Gift of Strawberries

“From you, I receive. To you, I give. Together we share - and from this…

read more

Sunday, October 13, 2019 – Hope Is A Verb

Too often the idea of hope is used as a platitude.  What is truly hope-giving? …

read more

Sunday, October 6, 2019 – 9:15 Objects In The Mirror May Be Closer Than They Appear – 11:15 Blessing of the Animals

9:15 a.m. Service: “Objects In The Mirror May Be Closer Than They Appear”. For many…

read more

Sunday, September 29, 2019 – “Ready, Set, Nope”

Maybe failure is not only an option but an obligation. What do you do when…

read more

Sunday, September 22, 2019 – “Redemption Redefined and Redefied”

Please join us in an exploration of the concept of redemption and how Unitarian Universalist…

read more

Sunday, September 15, 2019 – “Fishing for Serenity”

Please join Rev. Leslie Takahashi as she wrestles to land the 2018 Bid For Love…

read more

Sunday, September 8, 2019 – “AND So It Goes…”

When times are hard it is too easy just to try to escape or avoid,…

read more

Sunday, September 1, 2019 – “The Ocean Refuses No River”

Annual Water Ceremony Service” Join us for the annual gathering of community and waters. At…

read more

Sunday, August 25, 2019 – Unboxing

An enthusiastic spirit of curiosity can lead us toward passionate action. What impact does our…

read more

Sunday, August 18, 2019 – Play, Pray, Relate, Create

Join Rev. Leslie Takahashi as she examines what these four activities have in common and…

read more

Sunday, August 11, 2019 – I Am NOT Just One Box

When we look around the church, how do we think of the people sitting there…

read more

Sunday, August 4, 2019 – The Eye of the Storm

In an emergency, people tell you to remain calm. That’s easier said than done. In…

read more

Sunday, July 28, 2019 – A Healing Journey

Join Worship Associate Bill Yarborough to explore the different facets of healing from repressed, traumatic…

read more

Sunday, July 21, 2019 – Befriending Uncertainty

Physician and author Rachel Naomi Remen has said, “The wish to control floats like a…

read more

Sunday, July 14, 2019 -UU and Japan’s Religious Traditions

How might Unitarian-Universalists learn from and find value in Japan’s religious traditions - Shintoism, Buddhism,…

read more

Sunday, July 7, 2019 – Resilience

When the unexpected happens, do we shatter, or rebound, recover, and readjust? What makes us…

read more

Sunday, June 30, 2019 – The Power of We

Remembering the UUA General Assembly of Congregations 2019. MDUUC’s delegation will reflect on the highlights…

read more

Sunday, June 23, 2019 – Wholly Well

There are so many things which are difficult to accept about living in flawed, vulnerable…

read more
Back To Top