skip to Main Content

Upcoming Sermons

Videos of past sermons are available HERE

Sunday, November 17, 2019 – Refueling

Refueling: What can we give to one another? The news, the holidays, and even daily life can be draining. What might it mean to be part of a community that helps refuel each other? Join Jim Lewis, our consulting minister for 2019-2020, for this reinvigorating service.

Sunday, November 24, 2019 – Talk About Thanksgiving with Rev. David Sammons

The great myth of the American Thanksgiving is that it celebrates the thankful Pilgrims inviting their Native American neighbors to dinner to celebrate their survival in the new land to which they’d come. But the holiday we celebrate today was proclaimed by Abraham Lincoln during the American Civil War was not about that. It was a day meant to try to bring people together in a time of extreme strife and division. Each year the President has to proclaim the holiday anew. I don’t know that our currently divisive President has said about this Thanksgiving. His speech writer undoubtedly tweeted something a bit different than his tweets. But if we could proclaim a Thanksgiving instead of him, what would it be that it should say about what we’re thankful for? Led by Rev David Sammons.

Past Sermons

Sunday, November 10, 2019 – Sacrifice

In progressive circles we do not look so much at sacrifice and yet it is…

read more

Sunday, November 3, 2019 – That Which Has Been Your Delight

FALL BACK - Turn your clocks back one hour at 2:00 a.m.! This Sunday at…

read more

Sunday, October 27, 2019 – The Masks We Wear

Join us for a service in which we talk about the things we know about…

read more

Sunday, October 20, 2019 – The Gift of Strawberries

“From you, I receive. To you, I give. Together we share - and from this…

read more

Sunday, October 13, 2019 – Hope Is A Verb

Too often the idea of hope is used as a platitude.  What is truly hope-giving? …

read more

Sunday, October 6, 2019 – 9:15 Objects In The Mirror May Be Closer Than They Appear – 11:15 Blessing of the Animals

9:15 a.m. Service: “Objects In The Mirror May Be Closer Than They Appear”. For many…

read more

Sunday, September 29, 2019 – “Ready, Set, Nope”

Maybe failure is not only an option but an obligation. What do you do when…

read more

Sunday, September 22, 2019 – “Redemption Redefined and Redefied”

Please join us in an exploration of the concept of redemption and how Unitarian Universalist…

read more

Sunday, September 15, 2019 – “Fishing for Serenity”

Please join Rev. Leslie Takahashi as she wrestles to land the 2018 Bid For Love…

read more

Sunday, September 8, 2019 – “AND So It Goes…”

When times are hard it is too easy just to try to escape or avoid,…

read more

Sunday, September 1, 2019 – “The Ocean Refuses No River”

Annual Water Ceremony Service” Join us for the annual gathering of community and waters. At…

read more

Sunday, August 25, 2019 – Unboxing

An enthusiastic spirit of curiosity can lead us toward passionate action. What impact does our…

read more

Sunday, August 18, 2019 – Play, Pray, Relate, Create

Join Rev. Leslie Takahashi as she examines what these four activities have in common and…

read more

Sunday, August 11, 2019 – I Am NOT Just One Box

When we look around the church, how do we think of the people sitting there…

read more

Sunday, August 4, 2019 – The Eye of the Storm

In an emergency, people tell you to remain calm. That’s easier said than done. In…

read more

Sunday, July 28, 2019 – A Healing Journey

Join Worship Associate Bill Yarborough to explore the different facets of healing from repressed, traumatic…

read more

Sunday, July 21, 2019 – Befriending Uncertainty

Physician and author Rachel Naomi Remen has said, “The wish to control floats like a…

read more

Sunday, July 14, 2019 -UU and Japan’s Religious Traditions

How might Unitarian-Universalists learn from and find value in Japan’s religious traditions - Shintoism, Buddhism,…

read more

Sunday, July 7, 2019 – Resilience

When the unexpected happens, do we shatter, or rebound, recover, and readjust? What makes us…

read more

Sunday, June 30, 2019 – The Power of We

Remembering the UUA General Assembly of Congregations 2019. MDUUC’s delegation will reflect on the highlights…

read more

Sunday, June 23, 2019 – Wholly Well

There are so many things which are difficult to accept about living in flawed, vulnerable…

read more

Sunday, June 16, 2019 – You Raise Me Up

Today we celebrate the parent that resides within us all as we remember how we…

read more

Sunday, June 9, 2019 – What Can I Learn From This?

Mistakes and missteps are a part of human endeavor of all types. Join the MDUUC…

read more

Sunday, June 2, 2019 – Flowering and Flourishing

Join us for our annual flower communion as we celebrate our annual flower communion ritual,…

read more

Sunday, May 26, 2019 – Lest We Forget – ONE SERVICE 10:15 a.m.

PLEASE NOTE:  ON MAY 26, WE BEGIN OUR SUMMER SUNDAY SERVICE SCHEDULE WITH ONE SERVICE…

read more

Sunday, May 19 – 9:15 To What Is Your Heart Called – 11:15 Trust

9:15 To What Is Your Heart Called - Join us for this all ages worship…

read more

Sunday, May 12, 2019 – Bread and Roses

As we imagine a world rooted in love, let us remember the seeds that have…

read more

Sunday, May 5, 2019 – The Truth, The Whole Truth and Nothing But The Truth

How do we hold onto life-sustaining truths in a world of false news, spin and…

read more

Sunday, April 28, 2019 – A Community of Love

Commitment and community are often lauded in joyful and easy phrases and yet the day-to-day…

read more

Sunday, April 21, 2019 – Lo, The Earth Awakes Anew

Join us for our Easter Sunday services. Music, joy and the wearing of Easter bonnets…

read more
Back To Top